Gun control vote: give Jack Layton his due, for being more democratic than Ignatieff,

To me this is disappointing for several reasons:
For me it is important for my MP to have a free rein to vote as his/her conscience dictates while representing my interest at the same time. Democracy has has also been defeated in this vote as the Lib and Con leaders dictated how party members were to vote. As much as I dislike the NDP, I must concede Jack allowed democracy to prevail in an optic sense at least.
The Calgary City Police Chief has it right the problem guns are not in the hands of the average citizen.

http://www.cbc.ca/canada/story/2010/09/22/f-gun-registry-maps-graphic.html#socialcomments#ixzz10Mhg8Q8o

If Ignatieff hadn’t bullied his MP’s the bill would have passed.  Maybe he’ll come in under 60 seats, after the next election.
For those of you who know me, you know I don’t typically give Layton credit for much.
Today I will.  It sucks that my side lost but I like the way he played, now I will not say anything negative about him all day.
Tastes like vinegar.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gun control vote: give Jack Layton his due, for being more democratic than Ignatieff,

  1. Pingback: Steynian 423st « Free Canuckistan!

Leave a Reply

